News for North Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

University of North Texas At Dallas Names Biochemist Betty Stewart As Its New Provost

Courtesy of University of North Texas at Dallas
Betty H. Stewart is a biochemist and current provost at Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls.

Betty H. Stewart will serve as the new provost and executive vice president of the University of North Texas at Dallas, university officials announced Wednesday.

After conducting a nationwide search, the university has chosen Stewart to take over the role from interim provost Glenda Balas, starting in February, according to a press release.

Stewart, a biochemist, is making the move to Dallas from Wichita Falls. She’s currently the provost and president for academic affairs at Midwestern State University and has been since 2012.

“Dr. Stewart is a scientist and academic leader who brings a wealth of experience to UNT Dallas and is well-suited to help us realize our strategic vision,” UNT Dallas President Bob Mong said. 

“I was drawn to Dr. Stewart because of her strong academic credentials, her remarkable experience and her keen interest in our mission of service at UNT Dallas.”

As provost, Stewart will shape academic priorities and programs for UNT Dallas students and the community.

“I am a firm believer in the transformational power of education and in providing opportunities to create a better life for students and their families,” Stewart said.

She was vice president for academic affairs and dean of the faculty at Eckerd College in 2010 after serving as dean of the College of Science and Mathematics at Midwestern State for four years beginning in 2010. 

Stewart was the first female promoted to the rank of professor of chemistry at Austin College in Sherman. She served as chair of the chemistry department there from 2000-2006. 

Stewart earned her Ph. D. in protein biochemistry and biological sciences from Carnegie-Mellon University. A native of Mississippi, she received her bachelor’s degree in biochemistry from Mississippi State University.