News for North Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

KERA Earns 6 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, Including Overall Excellence

A woman named Cecilia Del Toro Garcia stands in front of a massive pile of debris that's known as "Shingle Mountain."
Keren Carrión
KERA's coverage of "Shingle Mountain" earned a regional Edward R. Murrow Award for continuing coverage. Here, Cecilia Del Toro Garcia stands in her backyard with the massive pile of construction debris in the background. Since the stories appeared, the shingles have been removed.

KERA earned six regional Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association, including Overall Excellence.

This is the second-most Murrows in KERA history; the station won eight in 2017. And it's the third Overall Excellence honor.

Among the winners was The Asylum Trap, reporter Mallory Falk's in-depth series about thousands of asylum seekers forced to remain in Mexico. The station also won for Alejandra Martinez's ongoing coverage of Shingle Mountain, a monstrous 100-foot-tall pile of waste dumped in a community of color. And Christopher Connelly earned a Murrow for sports reporting for his inside look into the world of rodeo athletes.

Other story forms were recognized, including Keren Carrión's video on a Quinceañera during the pandemic and Vice President of News Rick Holter's personal essay on grieving long distance for his father, who died from COVID-19.

Three of KERA's winners — Carrión, Falk and Martinez — are Report for America corps members.

Stations that are part of The Texas Newsroom, which KERA leads, collected 15 of the 17 regional Murrows in the large-market radio division. The collaboration also includes KUT in Austin, Houston Public Media and Texas Public Radio in San Antonio. Texas Standard, the daily newsmagazine the four stations co-produce, earned two Murrows. KUT collected four more. HPM and TPR won one apiece, and a bilingual Texas Newsroom coproduction with TPR about Latino voting took top honors for Excellence in Innovation. In the small-market radio division, Marfa Public Radio won eight of the nine regional awards; KTEP in El Paso took the other one.

This RTDNA region covers Texas and Oklahoma. Winners in the 12 regions automatically qualify for the national Murrow competition.

Here's the full list of regional Murrow winners. And here are KERA's awards:

KERA has earned 11 awards so far this year. Here are the others:

First Amendment Awards

KERA collected five First Amendment Awards from the Society Of Professional Journalists Fort Worth (SPJFW).

The awards "honor work that defends the freedoms guaranteed by the First Amendment to the Constitution; further the people’s right to know how governments and businesses affect their lives; and champion the powerless and disadvantaged."

In the Defending the Disadvantaged category, KERA's Christopher Connelly won first place for his story on how the pandemic has left many domestic violence survivors trapped.

KERA's Bret Jaspers took second place in the same category for teaming up with NPR's investigative team to highlight an alarming health disparity in North Texas: Testing sites are disproportionately more likely to be located in white neighborhoods.

In the General News category, KERA's Stella M. Chávez won first place for her story about how Gov. Greg Abbott's decision to deny refugee resettlement was at odds with the agricultural industry and faith groups.

KERA's five-part series The Asylum Trap by Mallory Falk won first place in the investigative category. The series highlights stories from asylum seekers stuck at the border, under the Trump administration’s “Remain in Mexico” policy, awaiting their day in U.S. immigration court.

The station also earned second place in that category for "Gun Play" by Hady Mawajdeh and Jerome Weeks. The five-episode, nonfiction podcast features a group of teen actors who traveled the country to create an original play about America’s divisions over Second Amendment rights, mass shootings, background checks and automatic weapons.

TPR, a partner in The Texas Newsroom, won three awards.

Here's the full list of SPJFW First Amendment Award winners. And here are KERA's awards:

KERA News is made possible through the generosity of our members. If you find this reporting valuable, consider making a tax-deductible gift today. Thank you.