News for North Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Elections In Fort Worth

Pile of red, white and blue pin on buttons that say vote.

Ten candidates are running to replace longtime Mayor Betsy Price, who isn't seeking reelection. Plus, three city council seats and five school board seats are up for grabs.

Fort Worth's longest-serving mayor, Betsy Price, isn't running for reelection, leaving room for change in city leadership for the first time in years.

Two City Council members are running for Price’s job, and another is retiring, leaving another three seats open on a Council that has not changed since 2017.

This is a big difference from years past. In 2019, all the same City Council members got reelected. You can find out which district you're in here.

Plus, the races are far more crowded than usual. Ten candidates are running for mayor alone.

While the spring election hasn’t received as much attention as last November’s, it could potentially have much more influence on residents’ day-to-day lives. Here’s what you need to know about the May 1 election.

Check out a sample ballot with all the races across Tarrant County.

Voting Information:
Tarrant County early voting is open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday, April 19 through Friday, April 23; 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Saturday, April 24; 11 a.m.-4 p.m. Sunday, April 25; 7 a.m.-7 p.m. April 26 and 27.

Election Day voting in Tarrant County is Saturday, May 1 from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. at any voting location.

Ahead of the election, KERA wants to hear from Fort Worth residents. What do you want to change in your community as a result of this election?

Fort Worth Mayor

Brian Byrd
Daniel "DC" Caldwell I
Mylene George
Mike Haynes
Cedric C. Kanyinda
Mattie Parker
Steve Penate
Deborah Peoples
Chris Rector
Ann Zadeh

Fort Worth City Council

District 2
Carlos Flores
Theodore Gray
Jennifer "Jen" Sarduy
Juan Sixtos

District 3
Michael Caceres
Tonya Carter
Michael Crain
Daniel "Double T" Fattori
Andy Gallagher
Katie Johnson
Anne Low
Adrian Devine Smith

District 4
Jorge L. Chavez
Kristie Hanhart
Cary Moon
Max Striker
Tara Wilson

District 5
Gyna Bivens
Antonio (Twin) Harris
Mar'Tayshia James
Richard Vazquez
Bob Willoughby

District 6
Jungus Jordan
Tiesa Leggett
Jared Williams

District 7
Connie Cottrell
Morris Curlee Jr.
Leonard Firestone
Lee Henderson
Joseph Lockhart Jr.
Michele Stephens McNill
Zeb Pent
Irvin (Lee) Thomas
Jake Wurman
Miguel Zamora

District 8
Kelly Allen Gray
Christopher Johnson
Tyrone King
Chris Nettles
Millennium Woods Jr.

District 9
Ricardo Avitia
Elizabeth Beck
Doyle Fine
Darien George
Jordan Mims
Fernando Peralta
Sabrina Renteria
Erik Richerson
Jared Sloane

Fort Worth ISD Board Of Trustees

District 1
Jacinto "Cinto" Ramos Jr.

District 4
Wallace Bridges
Daphne Brookins

District 7
Norman Robbins
Michael Ryan

District 8
Brianna C. Guerrero
Anael R. Luebanos

District 9
Cade Lovelace
Roxanne Martinez
Michael A. Shedd

KERA News is made possible through the generosity of our members. If you find this reporting valuable, consider making a tax-deductible gift today. Thank you.