NPR for North Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
ALERT: KERA News 90.1 is performing essential tower maintenance which may disrupt our over-the-air signal between July 12-14. Click here for the KERA News stream, or listen on our app or smart speakers with no disruption. Thanks for your patience!

Candidate field set for Texas 2022 primary elections

A sign that says "Vote Here Vote Aqui."
Keren Carrión
Republican Gov. Greg Abbott is facing five primary challengers.

The candidates are set for Texas' 2022 primary elections after the filing deadline closed Monday night. All major statewide offices will be on the March 1 ballot, including governor, lieutenant governor, and attorney general.

Republican Gov. Greg Abbott is facing five primary challengers, according to the Texas secretary of state’s office. The most well-known among them are former Texas GOP Chair Allen West and former state Sen. Don Huffines, who are both positioning themselves as more conservative than the Republican incumbent.

Eight Democrats filed to run for Texas governor. Former El Paso Congressman Beto O’Rourke is the likely frontrunner. Other Democratic candidates in the gubernatorial primary include Michael Cooper, who previously ran for lieutenant governor and the U.S. Senate, and Joy Diaz, a former journalist at Austin’s KUT 90.5 FM and the weekday public radio program Texas Standard from 2005 to 2021.

The Republican primary race for attorney general has three candidates running against incumbent Ken Paxton: U.S. Rep. Louie Gohmert of Tyler, Land Commissioner George P. Bush and former Texas Supreme Court justice Eva Guzman. Despite an endorsement from former President Donald Trump, Paxton is considered politically vulnerable in the GOP primary, due to his securities fraud indictment from 2015 and an ongoing federal investigation into allegations of corruption by former top aides in his office. Five Democrats have also filed to run for the office. Among them are Dallas civil rights lawyer Lee Merritt, former ACLU lawyer Rochelle Garza and former Galveston Mayor Joe Jaworksi.

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick is not facing any well-known challengers in the Republican primary, but three Democrats are running to replace him.

Houston accountant and 2018 nominee Mike Collier is running against former Texas Democratic Party vice chairwoman Carla Brailey and state Rep. Michelle Beckley of Carrollton.

The 2022 statewide primary elections also include contests for agriculture commissioner, comptroller, land commissioner, a spot on the Texas Railroad Commission, and three seats on Texas Supreme Court among others.

The last day to register to vote in the 2022 primaries in Texas is Jan. 31. Early voting will begin Feb. 14.

2022 Primary Candidates for Texas Governor:


  • Greg Abbott
  • Paul Belew
  • Danny Harrison
  • Kandy Kaye Horn
  • Don Huffines
  • Allen West


  • Inocencio (Inno) Barrientez
  • Michael Cooper
  • Joy Diaz
  • Jack Daniel Foster Jr.
  • Deirdre Gilbert
  • R. Star Locke
  • Beto O’Rourke
  • Rich Wakeland

2022 Primary Candidates for Texas Lieutenant Governor: 


  • Trayce Bradford
  • Daniel Miller
  • Dan Patrick
  • Aaron Sorrells


  • Michelle Beckely
  • Carla Brailey
  • Mike Collier

2022 Primary Candidates for Texas Attorney General:


  • George P. Bush
  • Louie Gohmert
  • Eva Guzman
  • Ken Paxton
  • Democrat:
  • Mike Fields
  • Rochelle Mercedes Garza
  • Joe Jaworski
  • Lee Merritt
  • S. T-Bone Raynor
Joseph Leahy anchors morning newscasts for NPR's statewide public radio collaborative, Texas Newsroom. He began his career in broadcast journalism as a reporter for St. Louis Public Radio in 2011. The following year, he helped launch Delaware's first NPR station, WDDE, as an afternoon newscaster and host. Leahy returned to St. Louis in 2013 to anchor local newscasts during All Things Considered and produce news on local and regional issues. In 2016, he took on a similar role as the local Morning Edition newscaster at KUT in Austin, before moving over to the Texas Newsroom.