NPR for North Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

MAP: Find Your Polling Place For Saturday's Municipal Elections

Erik Hersman

Polls open Saturday morning for the city and school elections. Early voting turnout was mixed in some areas, but there's one more chance to cast a ballot. Here's a look at elections across North Texas:

Dallas County

Municipal elections historically have a low voter turnout, but there’s been renewed interest in the Dallas City Council elections: Eight council member seats are up for grabs. The other six are running unopposed, and of course, there’s the mayor’s race, which features Mayor Mike Rawlings and attorney Marcos Ronquillo. 

One topic has been dominating the conversation around this election: the Trinity Parkway. Some see the project as a non-issue, but a grassroots PAC has formed to support candidates who oppose the proposed toll road.

The Dallas school board elections are getting less attention, but there’s some movement going on. The race for District 1 is the only one that lacks an incumbent. KERA’s Bill Zeeble reports that race will be a rematch between two candidates who faced off six years ago.

Elsewhere, other North Texas cities will have mayoral elections: Addison, Balch Springs, Lancaster, Lewisville, Mesquite, Seagoville and Sunnyvale. Here are all of the races in Dallas County.

Rowlett voters will decide whether or not to allow liquor stores within city limits. Most residents have to drive about 10 miles out to purchase liquor.

Tarrant County

In Fort Worth, the City Council canceled elections for Mayor Betsy Price, who's unopposed, and three unopposed council members: W.B. “Zim” Zimmerman, Jungus Jordan and Ann Zadeh. These four have been declared elected to their offices.

Arlington Mayor Robert Cluck is running for a seventh term, but he has several challengers for his seat: Jeff Williams, who has support from two former mayors; Didmus Banda, a Zambian immigrant; and Jerry Pikulinski, who's running his fifth mayoral campaign. Cluck has been mayor since 2003 and he previously served two terms as a councilman. His biggest challenger will be Williams, who has drummed up support from former mayors and community and business leaders.

Explore more top races with Bud Kennedy of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and Gromer Jeffers Jr. with the Dallas Morning News.

Map: Find Your Nearest Polling Location

Polls will open on Saturday, May 9 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Find your election day polling location below.



Dallas City Council Ballot

Dallas City District Map

Place 1                 

  • Scott Griggs (unopposed)                                            

Place 2 

  • Adam Medrano(unopposed)                                     

Place 3 

Place 4 

Place 5 

  • Jesse Diaz           
  • Rick Callahan (Incumbent)                                           
  • Sherry Cordova                 

Place 6 

  • Ozumba Lnuk-X                                 
  • Daniel "DC" Caldwell, I                                
  • Lakolya London                                
  • Monica R. Alonzo

Place 7 

  • Tiffinni A. Young                                               
  • Hasani Burton                                    
  • John Lawson     
  • Kevin Felder                                       
  • James "J.T." Turknett                                     
  • Randall Parker                    
  • Baranda J. Fermin           
  • Juanita Wallace                                

Place 8 

  • Dianne Gibson 
  • Clara McDade   
  • Subrina Lynn Brenham                                  
  • Eric Lemonte Williams                                
  • Gail Terrell                                          
  • Erik Wilson                                          

Place 9 

  • Christopher Jackson                                       
  • Darren Boruff                                
  • Mark Clayton                                     
  • Sam Merten                                       
  • Will Logg                                                                              

Place 10              

  • James N. White                                
  • Paul Reyes                                          
  • Adam McGough                                               

Place 11              

  • Lee M. Kleinman (unopposed)                                  

Place 12              

Place 13              

Place 14              

Place 15 (Mayor)             

  • Mike Rawlings (Incumbent)                        
  • Marcos Ronquillo                                             
  • Richard P. Sheridan (Write-In)   

Fort Worth City Council Ballot

The elections for mayor and districts 1, 3, 6 and 9 were canceled.

District 2

District 4

District 5

District 7

  • Dennis Shingleton (Incumbent)
  • Andy Gallagher

District 8

Helpful Links

Voter Registration (Texas Secretary of State Office)

Dallas County  

Dallas City Secretary’s Office

Build Your Own BallotThe Dallas Morning News

Dallas County Voter Registration

Tarrant County

Fort Worth City Secretary’s Office

Tarrant County Voter Registration

Other Counties

Collin County Voter Registration

Denton County Voter Registration

Rockwall County Voter Registration

KERA News coverage

Former KERA staffer Krystina Martinez was an assistant producer. She produced local content for Morning Edition and She also produced The Friday Conversation, a weekly series of conversations with North Texas newsmakers. Krystina was also the backup newscaster for the Texas Standard.