News for North Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Retail Gas Prices Slip In Texas & Midday Roundup


By KERA News & Wire Services

Dallas, TX – A slip in crude oil prices is being mirrored in Texas where the average retail cost of gasoline declined 3 cents this week, settling at $2.79 a gallon.

AAA Texas on Thursday reported that the nationwide cost per gallon of gasoline also slipped, down 4 cents to reach $2.89. Drivers in Houston and San Antonio were paying the highest prices at the pump, at $2.74 a gallon.

The association says El Paso had the most expensive gasoline, at $2.83.

Crude oil prices have dropped nearly 15 percent in the last 10 days, trading Thursday around $75 a barrel.

Dallas Co. constable who lost re-election resigns

A Dallas County constable who faced a corruption investigation and failed in his re-election bid has resigned. The resignation of Constable Jaime Cortes, offered late Wednesday, takes effect in 60 days.

Voters last month decided against Cortes, who lost in the Democratic primary runoff to Beth Villarreal. She has no GOP opponent in November.

Cortes has denied wrongdoing as he faced allegations of corruption and bribery.

Cortes, who has not been charged, says he was the target of a political witch hunt. He says he resigned so his family did not have to continue to be "abused" by the media and county commissioners.

Prosecutors sought to oust Cortes, who had faced being a witness Thursday for a hearing on the removal from office petition.

June enforcement of updated Txas booster seat law

The Department of Public Safety says updated enforcement of a new Texas booster seat law, including fines, begins June 1.

A DPS statement Thursday says law officers next month can start issuing citations for violations, instead of only offering verbal or written warnings on the law that took effect Sept. 1, 2009.

The law requires all children younger than age 8, or unless already taller than 4 feet, 9 inches, to be in the appropriate child safety seat system when riding in a passenger vehicle.

DPS says safety or booster seats and safety vests must be installed according to instructions of manufacturers, including age, height, weight requirements and proper placement in the vehicle.

The updated enforcement includes fines, ranging from $25 to $250, for violations.