Fort Worth, Arlington Mayors Win Re-Election Handily | KERA News

Fort Worth, Arlington Mayors Win Re-Election Handily

May 7, 2017

Incumbents ruled the day in Tarrant County when voters hit the polls in Saturday's municipal elections. Voters weighed in in municipal elections, choosing mayors, city council members and other local positions. 

Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price handily won re-election in the first challenge she’s faced since taking office in 2011. Six sitting city council members were also re-elected.

One incumbent lost: In southwest Fort Worth, four-term councilman Zim Zimmerman was ousted by physician Brian Byrd, who ran as an outsider with big support from evangelicals and some big business leaders.

One council seat remains undecided: In District 2 on the north side, the four-way race to replace retiring councilman Sal Espino is headed to a June 10 runoff between the two top vote getters.

Carlos Flores and Steve Thornton will face each other in a June 10 runoff election to represent Fort Worth City Council District 2.
Credit Christopher Connelly / KERA News

Aerospace engineer Carlos Flores told his supporters on Saturday night to gear up for Round Two.

“Fort Worth’s future’s bright, and it needs someone at the helm that can lead it into that bright future,” Flores said. “I believe in my heart of hearts that I am that person. So if y’all are behind me, we’re going to do it.”

Retired firefighter Steve Thornton trailed Flores by just over 200 votes, but says he’s building momentum to upset the downtown status quo.

“It’s about the people in this neighborhood, the people who have been forgotten, the streets that are left un-repaired,” Thornton said. “So I will tell you that I will always be a man that when I step up, speak up, and stand up for our rights, it’s about the people.”

In Arlington, Mayor Jeff Williams and two of three incumbent council members won re-election. Councilwoman Lana Wolff heads to a runoff with challenger Dakota Loupe. Arlington voters also sided with the city’s firefighters, and approved a switch to a civil service system that curtails the fire chief’s power over personnel decisions.