NPR for North Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Craddick names appointees to Interim Committee to Study the Power of Eminent Domain

Austin, TX –

Today, Speaker Tom Craddick (Midland) released the names of House of Representatives appointees to the Interim Committee to Study the Use of the Power of Eminent Domain.

"It is my hope this committee will come up with recommendations that will help the Legislature more fully understand this issue," Speaker Craddick said. "We must look into ways that will balance the importance of economic development with the fundamental property rights of all Texans."

Rep. Beverly Woolley (Houston) will serve as co-chair of the Committee. Other appointees are Rep. Frank Corte (San Antonio), Rep. Aaron Pena (Edinburg), Rep. Marc Veasey (Fort Worth), and Rep. Phil King (Weatherford).

The Interim Committee on the Power of Eminent Domain was established by statute under Senate Bill 7, landmark legislation that protected private property rights by reversing the effects on Texas citizens of the U.S. Supreme Court's much-criticized decision in Kelo v. City of New London. The Committee will have ten members; five senators appointed by the Lieutenant Governor and five House members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. The Speaker also designates one House member as co-chair.

The Committee will study the use of the power of eminent domain for economic development purposes and the issue of what constitutes adequate compensation for property taken through the use of this power. The Committee will prepare a report for the Lieutenant Governor and the Speaker by December 1, 2006.