News for North Texas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Monday is voter registration deadline for Texas primary runoff

Gus Contreras
Texans who want to cast ballots in the upcoming primary runoff election need to register to vote by Monday.

Monday, April 25, is the deadline to register to vote for upcoming state primary runoff elections in Texas. Voters in the Republican and Democratic primaries will decide who wins their nominations for state and county offices and appear on the ballot in November.

Because mailing in a voter registration form could potentially take several days, a voter’s best bet is to register in person at the appropriate county elections office. A list of those offices is here.

There’s no online voter registration in Texas, although people can update addresses online.

A person who voted in the March 1 statewide primary must stick with the same political party, but someone who did not vote in the initial primary can vote in the runoff.

Early voting in the primary runoff starts on May 16 and lasts five days. Election day is May 24.

There are many important races on the ballot in the runoff. Both parties have runoffs for Attorney General. There’s a runoff for Democratic candidates for Lieutenant Governor, a powerful job. There’s also a runoff for the GOP nomination for Railroad Commissioner, which regulates the oil and gas industry.

But before the primary runoff, there are votes on local races and state constitutional amendments. Voting in those contests ends on May 7.

Check out this page with voter resources and information from the League of Women Voters of Texas.

Got a tip? Email Bret Jaspers at You can follow Bret on Twitter @bretjaspers.

KERA News is made possible through the generosity of our members. If you find this reporting valuable, consider making a tax-deductible gifttoday. Thank you.

Bret Jaspers is a reporter for KERA. His stories have aired nationally on the BBC, NPR’s newsmagazines, and APM’s Marketplace. He collaborated on the series Cash Flows, which won a 2020 Sigma Delta Chi award for Radio Investigative Reporting. He's a member of Actors' Equity, the professional stage actors union.